Coffee with Codex Pt. 1: Mark Lurie

Codex
3 min readMar 25, 2018

Many know Codex Protocol as the start-up that is putting the art and collectibles industry on to the blockchain. With a consortium of over 5,000 auction houses and over $6 billion in sales, along with new applications for auction houses and collectors such as Biddable and Sellable, Codex Protocol is introducing the arts and collectibles industry to the incredible technology of the blockchain. But who are the faces behind the brand? Here we sit down and grab a quick coffee with the founders, Mark Lurie, Jess Houlgrave, and John Forrest, to find out more about them and what they love about the company. Here is the first in a series of 3 articles presenting the individuals behind Codex Protocol.

Mark Lurie, CEO

Mark, entrepreneurship is not new for you — in fact, some may call you a “serial entrepreneur”. Before Codex Protocol you also founded the company Lofty, an online market place for art and collectibles. What is the most exciting aspect of being an entrepreneur?

The most exciting thing about being an entrepreneur is the opportunity to grow as a person constantly and quickly. Each day, startups face new challenges and must find creative problems to solve them. Most of these are problems other people have faced before, from technical to management to business development. When I learn how other people have overcome similar problems and apply their solutions, I learn and grow in my abilities and experience, which I find deeply fulfilling. More rarely, these problems are unique. In these cases, solving them excites and energizes me. Entrepreneurship isn’t the easiest path, but I find that it helps me grow as a person in the ways I want to grow as a person. If that makes me a serial entrepreneur, then I suppose I am.

What is something that people would be surprised to learn about you?

Many people believe I am risk-loving, but I am actually quite risk-averse. My job is to maximize the possibility of a huge success, while mitigating risks that arise and preventing negative outcomes. This makes me comfortable with the unknown, but it doesn’t make me love risk.

What is your favorite artist or piece of art work?

I love early American transcendentalist writers and collect early editions of their works. If you have an early edition Walt Whitman, let me know!

If you weren’t busy with Codex Protocol, which profession would you like to try?

I like building companies. If I weren’t doing that, I would probably pursue my second passion in economics and be a trader or investor in the emerging crypto space.

What is one aspect of Codex Protocol that you are really excited about, and why?

The blockchain presents a rare opportunity to reshape the entire art and collectibles industry in a way that benefits almost everyone involved. This means it can have huge impact, be accomplished quickly, and be a team effort of all the various companies and stakeholders involved.

Do you have any pets?

We have a brand new Bernedoodle! Codex puppy attire is on the way for our company mascot. She even has an instagram: @isabellapuppellini

And for the final question… What is your favorite holiday destination? How do you relax in your free time?

My favorite holidays are in the mountains, so any national park. One day I hope to visit them all. I love hiking and try to do it whenever I can!

--

--

Codex

Codex is the leading decentralized registry for the $2 trillion arts & collectibles ("A&C") ecosystem. Our Publication: https://medium.com/codexprotocol/latest